Your Immediate Action Needed to prevent an effort to damage education in Ohio

Time is of the essence. Liberals on the Ohio State School Board are trying to eliminate American Government and History​ testing in Ohio.

The State School Board will meet on Sept. 18th and 19th (2017) to consider a proposal urging the Ohio Legislature to eliminate the required end-of-course testing in American Government and History. Six years ago, we were able to get a law passed for the Founding of America Documents curriculum, which guarantees that all 88 counties’ school districts teach the founding documents, namely the U.S. Constitution, Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Federalist and Anti-Federalist papers, Northwest Ordinance and the Ohio Constitution in grades 8 – 12 with an end-of-course exam.

At least one of the 19 State School Board members has tried to make the argument that by doing this, the state is returning control back to the local school systems. While that may, or may not be true, what is more to the point, if the American Government and History standards are not tested, how many teachers will teach this critical information to their students? Everyone knows that the teachers teach to the test. No test, no teaching of the foundational principles of America. 

 

Your Immediate Action Needed…

Please take some time to email or call the members of the State School board using the information provided below. Even if you can only contact one or two of them with your concerns, it would be of great help in this matter.

Possibly the easiest way to contact all of them quickly is to copy ​and paste all of their emails into the address bar of an email, write your​​ ​message, and hit “SEND!” 

Essentially, we want to communicate “We urge you to vote NO on the proposal to do away with American Government high school end-of-course assessment.”

 

CLICK HERE [ State Board of Education Members ]

The State Board of Education is made up of 19 members – 11 who are elected and eight who are appointed by the governor. The chairs of the education committees of the Ohio House of Representatives and Ohio Senate serve as non-voting ex officio members. The Superintendent of Public Instruction serves as secretary of the State Board of Education.

To contact your State Board of Education member, please see below or call the Office of Board Relations at (614) 728-2754.

President
Tess Elshoff
ElshoffTess@education.ohio.gov
419-753-2583

Vice President
Nancy Hollister
nancy.hollister@education.ohio.gov
740-373-6523

Linda Haycock
linda.haycock@education.ohio.gov
419-979-6438

Kathleen McGervey
kathleen.mcgervey@education.ohio.gov
440-669-0780

Charlotte McGuire
charlotte.mcguire@education.ohio.gov
937-287-3603

Pat Bruns
pat.bruns@education.ohio.gov
513-310-8953

Lisa Woods
lisa.woods@education.ohio.gov
330-410-6733

Antoinette Miranda
antoinette.miranda@education.ohio.gov
614-292-5909

Sarah Fowler
sarah.fowler@education.ohio.gov
440-563-8535

Stephanie Dodd
stephanie.dodd@education.ohio.gov
740-629-1333

Nick Owens
nick.owens@education.ohio.gov
513-706-2634

Meryl Johnson
meryl.johnson@education.ohio.gov
216-561-1396

Joseph Farmer
joe.farmer@education.ohio.gov
740-862-8649

Cathye Flory
cathie.flory@education.ohio.gov
740-603-6365

Rebecca Vazquez-Skillings
rebecca.vazquez-skillings@education.ohio.gov
614-256-9317

Martha Manchester
martha.manchester@education.ohio.gov
419-303-2672

Eric Poklar
eric.poklar@education.ohio.gov
614-519-5526

Laura Kohler
laura.kohler@education.ohio.gov
614-425-0183

Kara Morgan
kara.morgan@education.ohio.gov
202-297-4555

 

See the resolution HERE that Board members will be voting on at their meeting Monday or Tuesday.​

See the letter HERE that Chris Long, President of Ohio Christian Alliance, wrote to the State School Board members. 

It would also be great if you could forward this email ASAP to​ ​your​​ ​contacts.​  ​Thank YOU in advance for your efforts to keep Ohio children learning about the Constitution, Declaration of Independence and all the other critical founding documents.


 

-30-


 

FOLLOW PRESIDENT TRUMP ON TWITTER:

 
 
 

-30- 


 Facebook Pages and Groups for You to “Like and Share” 

Marietta Oh 9-12 Project
Guernsey County 9-12 Project
Noble County 9-12
Monroe County-9-12
Morgan County-9-12
Muskingum County 9-12 

  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *