Hands Off Our Energy – Take Action Plan

Sponsors: Marietta 9-12 Project & Americans for Prosperity-Ohio

When: July 11 – Monday 7:00 PM
Where: Valley Harvest Church – 104 Tennis Center Drive – Marietta, OH
Panel: Robert Murray – Jerry James – Sam Randazzo

With energy being vital to our daily lives, the Marietta OH 9-12 Project is pleased to host, along with Americans for Prosperity-Ohio, an informative and action-oriented townhall meeting “Hands Off Our Energy” on Monday, July 11, at Valley Harvest Church, 104 Tennis Drive, Marietta. The meeting will begin at 7:00 PM.

The purpose of this meeting is to provide information to the public on how the potential rise in the cost of energy is going to affect every aspect of our personal lives and jobs today and in the future. The panel consists of Robert Murray of Murray Energy Corporation, Jerry James of Artex Oil Company and Sam Randazzo of McNees, Wallace and Nurick, LLC. These represent the Coal Industry, the Gas and Oil Sector, plus an advocate for the citizens. They will address attendees from their respective areas so that the public can be informed about energy resources, costs, and availability– both immediate and future. The panel will be moderated by former State Representative and AFP-Ohio Policy Director Seth Morgan. This meeting will conclude with a plan of action for those in attendance.



Mr. Robert Murray is the largest privately owned coal company in America Producing approximately 30 million annual tons of bituminous coal that provides affordable energy to households and businesses across the country. We have eight (8) underground and surface mining operations, plus 40 subsidiary and support companies. Transporting coal via truck, rail and waterways, we operate the second largest fleet of longwall mining units in the country. With a support team of 3,000 hard-working, dedicated, and talented employees in six (6) states, Murray Energy Corporation provides efficient, safe, and affordable high-quality coal to the country’s leading electric producers, domestically and abroad.


Jerry James President of Ohio Oil and Gas Association

Artex Oil Company has become one of the largest oil and gas producers in Ohio. Today we pay out millions of dollars per year in royalties to landowners. This would be impossible without the cooperation of numerous landowners granting thousands of oil and gas leases. Artex invests significant funds to explore on these leases using state of the art seismic and drilling techniques. These techniques greatly increase our success as well as the royalties paid to the landowners. Artex is currently responsible for the creation and continuation of at least 500 jobs in our area of operations. Our staff of professionals and supporting contractors are setting the standard for the production of oil and gas in Ohio to expand our presence and performance for many years to come.

Sam Randazzo
McNees Wallace & Nurick LLC

Sam has spent more than 25 years solving issues affecting the price and availability of communications, natural gas, electricity and other regulated services. The range of his experience includes developing Ohio’s innovative self-help natural gas program, implementation of the Telecommunications Act of 1996, a leadership role in natural gas and electricity restructuring and chief guide on Ohio utility legislation and counsel to the Industrial Energy Users-Ohio.

Call these people and do not take NO for an answer.

Speaker Batchelder warns that re-regulation will eliminate jobs, hurt Ohio’s economy

(COLUMBUS) – Ohio House Speaker William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) sent a letter to Ohio Governor John Kasich today reaffirming the importance of working together to ensure Ohio has a sound business-oriented energy policy. Speaker Batchelder said that the move is inline with the Republican Caucus’ continued focus on jobs and fixing Ohio’s economy.

Please take the time to call each of these Representatives. They told each of us they wanted to represent us so they need to hear how bad it is getting for “we the people”.

Speaker of the House Bill Batchelder
77 S. High St., 14th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6111
Telephone: (614) 466-8140
E-mail: district69@ohr.state.oh.us

Senate President Tom Niehaus
Room #201, Second Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Telephone: (614) 466-8082
E-mail: sd14@mailr.sen.state.oh.us

Chairman Peter J. Stautberg
Public Utilities & Energy Committee
77 S. High St., 11th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6111
Telephone: (614) 644-6886
E-mail: district34@ohr.state.oh.us

Chairman David Daniels
Energy & Public Utilities Committee
Senate Building
Room #41, Ground Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Telephone: (614) 466-8156
E-mail: sd17@mailr.sen.state.oh.us

Representative Andy Thompson
77 S. High St., 11th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6111
Telephone: (614) 644-8728
E-mail: district93@ohr.state.oh.us

Governor John Kasich
Riffle Center, 30th Floor
77 S. High Street
Columbus, OH 43215
Telephone: (614) 466-3555
E-mail: www.state.oh.us/gov

PUCO Chairman Todd Snitchler
180 E. Broad Street, 12th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Telephone: (614) 466-3204
E-mail: todd.snitchler@puc.state.oh.us

US Representatives
Bill Johnson 6th Dist. 202.225.5705
Bob Gibbs 18th Dist. 202.225.6265

Ohio Representatives
John Carey Dist. 87 – 614.466.1366
Bill Hayes Dist. 91 – 614.466.2500
Debbie Phillips Dist. 92 – 614.466.2158
Troy Balderson Dist. 94 – 614.644.6014
Lou Gentile Dist 95 – 614.466.3735
Al Landis Dist. 96 – 614.466.8035
David Hall Dist. 97 – 614.466.2994

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *